Home › Reviews › Telkom Review
Cloud PBX provider review · Published 2024

Telkom Review

Telkom Business is the business arm of South Africa’s JSE-listed incumbent, selling VoIP plans from R145 a month, a cloud PABX on the iPECS platform, mobile, and fibre from R309 on the Openserve network it owns. It suits a business that wants fixed voice, mobile and connectivity from one supplier with prices on the page. The trade-off is that no business-division review record exists and the consumer record is among the weakest in the market.

Facts checked telkom.co.za sampled 8 to 24 August, provider record 6 September 2026
Disclosure Not a sponsor; editorial independence policy
Direct answer

Is Telkom worth shortlisting?

Only if you need one supplier across fixed voice, mobile, fibre and LTE, value a published rate card, and can accept a support risk that any buyer will see immediately on public review sites. Telkom publishes more than most operators: IP Voice Unlimited from R145 a month month-to-month, a Virtual Number at R99, BizTalk and Smart Voice plans on 24-month terms, a cloud PABX from about R69 to R77 a month by term, and fibre from R309. It also owns Openserve, the network most rivals resell. But no business-division review record exists to score, and the consumer Telkom record on HelloPeter is among the weakest in South African telecoms. For voice-only procurement, a specialist usually shortlists faster on both price and service record.

Fast facts
  • HQ61 Oak Avenue, Centurion; JSE-listed Telkom SA SOC Limited, the incumbent ECNS and ECS operator
  • Voice pricingIP Voice Unlimited from R145 a month month-to-month; Virtual Number R99; Smart Voice from R255 and BizTalk VoIP from R429 on 24 months; PABX Cloud from R65 catalogue price (configurator R69 to R77 by term)
  • ConnectivityBusiness fibre from R309 a month on contract across Openserve, Vumatel, MetroFibre, Frogfoot, Octotel and Seacom; LTE from R299
  • PlatformPABX Cloud on Ericsson-LG iPECS Cloud with the iPECS ONE apps; CRM, recording and analytics as add-ons
Quick verdict

The incumbent with the broadest footprint and a rare published rate card, and a support record it cannot show for the business division.

Telkom is the one South African operator that owns the whole stack: the incumbent fixed-line and mobile networks, Openserve (the fibre network operator its competitors resell), and an enterprise arm. For a business, that shows up as a self-service catalogue with prices on it, which is rare at this scale: IP Voice Unlimited from R145 a month with no term, a R99 virtual number, BizTalk and Smart Voice plans that bundle a handset and geographic number, a cloud PABX on the Ericsson-LG iPECS platform priced by contract length, and fibre, LTE and combo packages from R309.

The problem is evidence of service. No Google or HelloPeter record exists for the business division; the records that do exist belong to the consumer entity, a retail store and the campus, and cannot be attributed. The consumer HelloPeter feed sits at the bottom of the South African telecoms table, and it is the same support organisation. So customer reviews are not scored, support quality sits at 4.5, and the overall 6.7 rests on price transparency and infrastructure. If you proceed, get a named account manager and billing-dispute terms in writing.

Interactive fit checker

Is Telkom likely to suit you?

Tick what applies to your business.

Pros and watch-outs

What Telkom does well, and where to push back at quote stage.

Pros
  • A published business rate card: IP Voice Unlimited from R145 a month with no term, Virtual Number R99, Smart Voice from R255 with a wireless desk phone and geographic number, BizTalk VoIP from R429 and BizTalk SIP from R825 on 24 months.
  • PABX Cloud on the Ericsson-LG iPECS Cloud platform with auto-attendant, hunt groups and the iPECS ONE mobile and desktop apps, priced by contract term.
  • Owns Openserve, the fibre network most rivals resell, and holds the incumbent ECNS and ECS licences; business fibre from R309 a month across six network operators.
  • One supplier across fixed voice, mobile, fibre and LTE, with combo packages (LTE plus unlimited VoIP from R658 on 24 months) and a countrywide retail-store presence.
  • JSE-listed with public financial disclosure, for procurement that scores supplier longevity.
Watch-outs
  • No business-division review record exists on Google or HelloPeter; the consumer Telkom HelloPeter feed is among the weakest in South African telecoms and it is the same support organisation.
  • The R65 PABX Cloud catalogue price does not appear in the configurator, which computes R77, R72 or R69 a month by term with no seat-count selector; it is a from-price, not a per-extension rate card.
  • Most plans are 12- to 24-month contracts with hardware bundled into the term; only IP Voice Unlimited and the Virtual Number are month-to-month.
  • No uptime percentage is published on the SME catalogue, and the billing increment on the 55c out-of-bundle BizTalk rate is not stated.

Score breakdown

Five categories that decide whether Telkom earns a slot on your shortlist. The headline is the weighted sum, so you can check the arithmetic.

Pricing value7.0

A published rate card (IP Voice Unlimited from R145 a month; PABX Cloud from R65 at catalogue level, R69 to R77 in the configurator by term) is among the more transparent incumbent commercials, though these are from-prices rather than a per-extension rate card.

Feature set7.0

A broad catalogue covering fixed voice, mobile, fibre, LTE and enterprise UCaaS on Ericsson-LG iPECS Cloud. Held back by CRM, recording and analytics sitting as add-ons and the absence of Teams Direct Routing on the public business plans.

Customer reviewsNot scored

No South African public rating with enough reviews to score. The HelloPeter and Google records that exist belong to Telkom’s consumer entity, its retail store and its campus, and cannot be attributed to the business division. The remaining four dimensions are re-weighted to 100%.

Reliability and uptime7.8

Owns Openserve, the fibre network operator its competitors resell, and holds the original incumbent ECS and ECNS licences, the deepest infrastructure ownership in the set; no published uptime figure on the business catalogue.

Support quality4.5

No attributable business-division support record. The consumer HelloPeter feed belongs to the same support organisation and is disclosed as context but not counted; the retail-store escalation path and account-managed iPECS deployment keep this above the floor.

Pricing: what is on the business rate card

Telkom is rare among South African operators in publishing business voice prices. Everything below is from the telkom.co.za business catalogue, sampled 8 and 18 August 2026; Telkom revises prices periodically, so confirm at quote.

Line Published rate What you get or what to ask Disclosure
IP Voice Unlimited (1 to 20 users) From R145 a month, month-to-month Unlimited VoIP on any broadband; porting fee and included destinations Published
Virtual Number R99 a month, month-to-month A business number without a line Published
Smart Voice (Basic to Unlimited) From R255 a month on 24 months Wireless desk phone and geographic number included, no installation fee Published
BizTalk VoIP and BizTalk SIP From R429 and R825 a month on 24 months Bundled minutes; out-of-bundle 55c a minute, billing increment not stated Published
PABX Cloud (iPECS) From R65 catalogue; R77 / R72 / R69 a month at 12 / 24 / 36 months A flat monthly figure with no seat selector; ask how extensions are priced above the base Confirm at quote
Business fibre From R309 a month on contract Which network at your address (Openserve, Vumatel, MetroFibre, Frogfoot, Octotel, Seacom), speed tier and any SLA Published
LTE and combos LTE from R299; LTE plus unlimited VoIP from R658 on 24 months Router and installation included on the combo; check the fair-use terms Published
Billing-dispute and escalation terms Not published A named account manager and dispute response times, in writing Demand in writing

What real customers say

What the public record holds, and why this page quotes none of it.

There are no customer quotes on this page. The WhichVoIP record holds no Google or HelloPeter listing for Telkom’s business division: the Telkom Head Office Google listing is a consumer cell-phone store, Telkom Park is the campus, and the HelloPeter profile is the consumer entity. None can be attributed to Telkom Business, so customer reviews are not scored and the remaining four dimensions are re-weighted to 100%. The consumer feed is the same support organisation, though, and it sits at the bottom of the South African telecoms table; read it, then ask Telkom for three business references and a named account manager.

The Telkom product line

Fixed voice, cloud PABX, mobile and the network under all of it.

IP Voice and BizTalk

VoIP plans on any broadband

IP Voice Unlimited from R145 month-to-month, and BizTalk VoIP and SIP plans with bundled minutes on 24-month terms.

PABX Cloud

Ericsson-LG iPECS Cloud

A cloud PABX with auto-attendant and hunt groups included and the iPECS ONE mobile and desktop apps, with CRM, recording and analytics as add-ons. Priced by contract term.

Smart Voice

Handset and number bundled

Plans from R255 on 24 months that include a wireless desk phone and a geographic number with no installation fee.

Fibre and LTE

Openserve and five other networks

Business fibre from R309 across Openserve, Vumatel, MetroFibre, Frogfoot, Octotel and Seacom, LTE from R299, and LTE-plus-VoIP combos with router and installation included.

Mobile and enterprise

The rest of the group

Mobile plans, and an enterprise arm for larger deployments, account-managed.

Infrastructure

The incumbent networks

Telkom holds the incumbent ECNS and ECS licences and owns Openserve, the fibre network operator most rivals resell.

IP Voice from R145
Virtual Number R99
PABX Cloud on iPECS
Smart Voice with handset
BizTalk VoIP and SIP
Fibre from R309
LTE from R299
Owns Openserve
Retail stores
Mostly 24-month terms

Choose Telkom if

  • You need one supplier across fixed voice, mobile, fibre and LTE with one bill.
  • A published rate card and a JSE-listed incumbent matter more to you than a public service record.
  • You want fibre from the operator that owns the network at your address.
  • You can secure a named account manager and billing-dispute terms in writing before signing.

Consider another if

  • A strong public support record is a hard requirement; none exists for the business division and the consumer record is weak.
  • You want month-to-month terms across the board; most Telkom plans run 24 months with hardware bundled in.
  • You need Microsoft Teams Direct Routing on a published plan.
  • You only need a phone system and would rather compare per-extension rates from specialists.

Alternatives to compare

WhichVoIP partners in Fibre — paying sponsors, independently scored on the same rubric as Telkom Business. Worth a quote alongside it.

Sponsored partner · Fibre

Centracom

7.4

Managed business fibre, 25–1000 Mbps, month-to-month. Listing · Review

Peers scored on the same rubric sit side by side on Compare phone systems, Compare VoIP providers, Compare fibre providers, Compare wireless providers and Compare call centre providers; Telkom also has its own alternatives page.

South African essentials

Four local signals to verify before signing.

ICASA licensing

Telkom is the incumbent licensed ECNS and ECS operator. No further check is needed on licensing.

Numbering and porting

Porting to Telkom Business is handled on the plans; the porting fee is not itemised on the catalogue. Confirm it and the timeline, and which numbers move on which date.

Support hours

No business-division support record exists, and no hours or response commitment are published on the SME catalogue. Get a named account manager, escalation path and billing-dispute response times in writing.

Contract terms

Only IP Voice Unlimited and the Virtual Number are month-to-month; other plans run 12 to 24 months with hardware in the term. Confirm the early-termination terms and the PABX Cloud extension pricing before signing.

Review method

How this score was built

Scores are editorial guides, not guarantees. Telkom Business’s 6.7 is the weighted sum of the four scored dimensions above, re-weighted to 100% because customer reviews could not be scored: 0.3125×7.0 + 0.3125×7.0 + 0.1875×7.8 + 0.1875×4.5. Telkom Business is not a sponsor, and sponsorship does not move a score.

  • Pricing value, 31.25%Rate transparency, setup friction, contract flexibility
  • Feature set, 31.25%Controls, analytics, integrations, admin usability
  • Reliability and uptime, 18.75%Infrastructure ownership, hosting location, published uptime evidence
  • Support quality, 18.75%Support hours, location, and what customer reviews say about resolution

FAQ

Short answers for the questions buyers typically ask before requesting quotes.

What is Telkom Business?

The business arm of Telkom SA SOC Limited, the JSE-listed South African incumbent that holds the original ECNS and ECS licences and owns Openserve. It sells VoIP plans, a cloud PABX, mobile, fibre and LTE to businesses through a self-service catalogue and account managers.

How much does Telkom business VoIP cost?

IP Voice Unlimited for 1 to 20 users is published from R145 a month month-to-month, a Virtual Number is R99, Smart Voice plans with a handset and number start at R255 on 24 months, and BizTalk VoIP from R429 and BizTalk SIP from R825 on 24 months.

How much is Telkom’s cloud PABX?

The catalogue shows PABX Cloud from R65 a month on contract; the configurator computes R77 at 12 months, R72 at 24 and R69 at 36, with no seat-count selector. Ask how additional extensions are priced.

Which platform is Telkom’s PABX Cloud built on?

Ericsson-LG iPECS Cloud, with auto-attendant and hunt groups included, the iPECS ONE apps, and CRM, recording and analytics as add-ons.

Why is customer reviews not scored?

Because no Google or HelloPeter listing exists for the business division. The records that exist belong to the consumer entity, a retail store and the campus, and cannot be attributed. The other four dimensions are re-weighted to 100%.

Does Telkom offer fibre for business?

Yes, from R309 a month on contract across Openserve, Vumatel, MetroFibre, Frogfoot, Octotel and Seacom, plus LTE from R299 and LTE-plus-VoIP combos from R658 on 24 months.

Sources, disclosure and what changedWhere this review’s facts come from, how WhichVoIP gets paid, and the update history
Sources checked
  • telkom.co.za business internet calling plansUsed for IP Voice Unlimited from R145, Virtual Number R99, Smart Voice, BizTalk VoIP and SIP plans and terms, and the observation that the billing increment is not stated. Sampled 8 and 23 August 2026. Open source →
  • telkom.co.za switchboard shopUsed for the PABX Cloud catalogue price and the configurator figures by term. Sampled 18 August 2026. Open source →
  • telkom.co.za business fibre and LTE pagesUsed for fibre from R309, the network operators, LTE from R299, combo packages, bundled hardware and contract terms, and the absence of a published uptime figure. Sampled 8 and 24 August 2026. Open source →
  • ipecs.comUsed for the iPECS Cloud platform features behind PABX Cloud. Sampled 8 August 2026. Open source →
  • WhichVoIP provider recordUsed for the observation that no Google or HelloPeter listing can be attributed to Telkom Business, and that the consumer records belong to other entities.
Disclosure

Telkom Business is not a WhichVoIP sponsor. This review was researched and written by WhichVoIP’s editorial team using primary sources (group corporate site, the public HelloPeter listing, Google Maps and the V6 product-page baseline). WhichVoIP may receive a referral fee when you request quotes through our platform. Read our full editorial policy.

What changed in this review
  • 6 September 2026Quote-request links re-routed to the fibre quote form after the primary-category decision; no other change.
  • 6 September 2026Page rebuilt in the updated review layout. The customer section now states what the record holds (no attributable business-division listing) and quotes nothing; the consumer HelloPeter quotes the page carried were removed as unattributable. Pricing table rebuilt from the August facts (IP Voice, Virtual Number, Smart Voice, BizTalk, PABX Cloud configurator, fibre, LTE). Alternatives given reasons; South African essentials rewritten to the four standard checks; journey rail and collapsed sources block added. Score unchanged at 6.7 on four re-weighted dimensions.
  • 4 September 2026Re-scored on the five-dimension rubric with Customer reviews marked Not scored and the other four dimensions re-weighted to 100%. The headline moves from 6.5 to 6.7: Support quality is rescored from 3.4 to 4.5 because the HelloPeter feed it previously rested on is Telkom’s consumer profile, which this site does not attribute to the business division – the same ruling applied to Vodacom Business. Pricing re-read on telkom.co.za today (IP Voice Unlimited R145, PABX Cloud from R65) and the table below is current.
  • 18 August 2026Added Cloud PBX indicative pricing: Telkom’s self-service Switchboard catalogue lists “From R65/month” for PABX Cloud (Ericsson-LG iPECS), but the live configurator computes R77/R72/R69 per month at 12/24/36-month terms with no extension count published and R0 setup – both figures now shown. Added Business fibre (from R309/month, 10–40Mbps) and Business LTE (from R109/month capped, R299/month uncapped Daytime) pricing, previously missing from this review.
  • 19 May 2026Score recalibrated from 6.5 to 6.4 against an updated 4-axis rubric. Surfaced the full HelloPeter signal (1.15★/3,318/NPS -94) that the prior review didn’t quantify. Multi-listing GBP discovery added a Head Office 2.0★ / 450 corporate-listing finding. Tightened the catalogue framing to five primary product lines.

Compare Telkom against two more providers

Tell us what you need and we will match you with up to three vetted South African providers. Free, and no obligation.

Get free quotes
Now hiring Hire your AI receptionist