Wanatel vs Switch Telecom: who really costs less?
One provider prices the whole platform in a single number. The other sells seats and the trunk separately, and its headline hides R100 of the bill. We pulled both pricing pages on the same day so you can compare true monthly totals, not marketing numbers.
Should my business choose Wanatel or Switch Telecom?
At ten seats, Switch Telecom is cheaper: R260 for the 10-extension block plus the mandatory 4-channel SIP trunk at R100 comes to R360 a month before calls. Wanatel’s 10-extension Standard bundle is R425 with its calling platform included. Under ten seats, Wanatel’s R225 five-extension bundle wins.
What do Wanatel and Switch Telecom really cost?
The two providers price in opposite shapes: Wanatel sells one bundle number with the calling platform inside it, Switch sells seats and the trunk as two separate lines. Compare headlines and you get the wrong answer.
Wanatel advertises Cloud PBX “starts at R49 per month/per extension”, and that page does not say whether VAT is included, so treat the R49 as a headline rather than a budget line. The real published matrix is clearer, and it is: the Standard tier runs R225 for 5 extensions, R425 for 10, R600 for 15, R750 for 20, R875 for 25 and R1,625 for 50. Advanced adds a call quality analysis tool and a billing module for R275 / R525 / R750 / R950 / R1,125 / R1,950 at the same seat counts. Premium, which starts at 20 extensions and is the only tier with Foreign Provider Access, costs R1,200 / R1,350 / R2,400 for 20 / 25 / 50 extensions plus a R950 once-off setup. Setup on Standard and Advanced is free, billing is per-second from the first second, and calls between Wanatel extensions in South Africa are free.
Switch Telecom prices its Hosted Switchboard at R260 per month for a block of 10 extensions, and only sells it in blocks of ten. That R260 is not a price you can actually pay, because the switchboard cannot be bought on its own.
The trunk itself is R100 a month for 4 channels on usage-based billing, with extra channels at R25 each (8 channels cost R200). Heavy callers can swap to unlimited trunks at R1,000, R2,500 or R5,000 for 4, 8 or 16 outbound channels. Setup is free on both the switchboard and the trunk, contracts are month-to-month, and every extension gets a free browser and mobile softphone. These are Switch’s first adjusted prices in 18 years; its own December 2025 notice confirmed the increase that took effect for existing customers on 1 March 2026.
How a 10-seat monthly bill assembles (before calls)
Wanatel vs Switch Telecom head-to-head
Every figure below comes off the two providers’ own pricing pages, pulled on 18 August 2026. Calls are billed on top by both, in every case.
| Factor | Wanatel | Switch Telecom |
|---|---|---|
| 5 seats, monthly | R225 (Standard 5-ext bundle) | R360 minimum – smallest block is 10 ext at R260, plus the mandatory 4-channel trunk at R100 |
| 10 seats, monthly | R425 (Standard, platform included) | R360 (R260 block + R100 mandatory trunk) |
| 50 seats, monthly | R1,625 (Standard) | R1,300 in blocks + trunk sized to concurrent calls (8 channels adds R200: R1,500) |
| What the number includes | One bundle: PBX and calling platform together | Seats only; the SIP trunk is mandatory and billed separately |
| Setup | Free on Standard and Advanced; R950 once-off on Premium | Free on switchboard and trunk |
| Published call rates | Not published with the bundles; per-second billing, rates on request | Published: 24c/min national, 43c/min mobile on Package 1 |
| Inter-branch calls | Free between Wanatel extensions in SA | On-net calls billed at 13c/min (Package 1) |
| Contract | Not stated on the pricing page; confirm in writing | Month-to-month across the range |
| ICASA licences | ECS + ECNS, issued March 2009 | ECS + ECNS, since 2007 |
| Reseller route | KEVO white-label reseller programme | Direct sales |
| Support quality score | 5.5 / 10 | 8.7 / 10 |
Three structural points behind the table. First, Wanatel’s bundles are the more honest headline: the number you see is the number you pay for the platform, while Switch’s R260 always needs the trunk added before it means anything (10 ext R260 + 4-channel trunk R100 = R360 before calls). Second, Switch’s separation cuts both ways. A 30-seat office that never has more than 4 calls running pays R780 + R100, where Wanatel’s tier pricing does not care about concurrency. Sized well, the split model is cheaper; sized carelessly, channels you never use pad the bill. Third, the support quality gap (5.5 vs 8.7) is less clear-cut than it looks: Switch’s score reflects consistently strong, current customer reviews, while Wanatel’s reflects thin and stale evidence – ten Google reviews with nothing recent – rather than any demonstrated problem, and should be read as uncertain rather than as a confirmed weakness. What both share is more concrete: neither publishes a written uptime SLA. Wanatel’s own Wholesale Channel Manager has publicly claimed 99.9% uptime, but that’s a marketing statement, not a contractual commitment with remedies attached. If guaranteed uptime matters to your business, ask for one in writing from whichever provider you choose – a strong network licence is not the same thing as a service guarantee.
Switch’s R260 headline is not the price you pay. R360 is – and at ten seats it still undercuts Wanatel’s R425.
WhichVoIP editorial viewWhere each provider wins on features
Neither platform is a stripped-down clone of the other. The feature gaps map cleanly onto who each provider is built for.
Wanatel’s edge
The three-tier matrix gives finance teams something Switch does not: a published upgrade path. Advanced adds a call quality analysis tool and a billing module over Standard, and Premium unlocks Foreign Provider Access, meaning you can route via a carrier other than Wanatel, at a minimum of 20 extensions and a R950 once-off setup. Per-second billing from the first second suits short-call, high-volume operations, and free inter-branch calling makes multi-site businesses cheaper to run internally. For IT integrators, the KEVO white-label programme lets you resell the entire Wanatel stack under your own brand, a channel motion Switch simply does not offer.
Switch Telecom’s edge
Transparency and flexibility. Switch publishes its full call tariff: Package 1 charges 13c on-net, 24c national and 43c to mobiles per minute (30-second increments after a 60-second minimum), while Package 2 charges 15c, 26c and 52c billed per second from the first second, all and unchanged since April 2018. Contracts are month-to-month on everything, every extension ships with a free browser and mobile softphone, and the trunk range scales from R100 usage-based to R5,000 unlimited on 16 outbound channels. Support runs Monday to Friday 08:00 to 17:00, with weekend standby on the Business and Corporate SLAs. Switch also confirms API access is available to Enterprise customers, delivered on request as a scoped project through its Cloud SBC alongside its existing Teams, Freshdesk and Twilio integrations, rather than published self-serve developer docs.
Which one fits your business?
Seat count and call profile decide this more than brand loyalty ever should.
Pick Wanatel if…
You run 5 to 9 seats and want one predictable bundle number (R225 at five extensions beats Switch’s R360 floor by a wide margin). You operate multiple branches that call each other all day, since inter-branch calls cost nothing. You make lots of short calls where per-second billing pays back. Or you are a reseller building recurring telecoms revenue, because KEVO is the established white-label route.
Pick Switch Telecom if…
You have ten seats or more and a modest concurrent-call peak, where R360 a month (the R260 block plus the mandatory R100 trunk) undercuts every Wanatel tier at the same size. You want call rates in writing before you sign rather than on request. Or you value month-to-month freedom on every product and a provider whose pricing held flat for 18 years before its first increase in March 2026.
Our verdict
There is no single winner here, only a winner per seat count. Under ten extensions, Wanatel takes it: the R225 Standard bundle is the cheapest published way into either platform, and the number includes the calling side. At ten seats and beyond, Switch Telecom wins the monthly maths at R360 all-in (R260 for the 10-extension block plus the mandatory 4-channel trunk at R100, before calls) against Wanatel’s R425, and it is the only one of the two with a published call tariff. The honest caveats: Wanatel’s R49-per-extension headline does not state its VAT basis and its call rates are quote-only, while Switch’s total moves with your concurrent-call count, so a busy phone floor needs more trunk channels than the R360 example assumes.
Get quotes from both sides of this shootout
Tell us your seat count once and receive free, comparable Cloud PBX quotes from vetted South African providers, so you can judge Wanatel and Switch on your own numbers.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper for a 5-person office, Wanatel or Switch Telecom?
What does Switch Telecom really cost at 10 extensions?
Does Wanatel’s bundle price include the trunk?
Are Wanatel’s prices inclusive of VAT?
Are both providers ICASA licensed?
Which provider is better for resellers and IT partners?
Does either provider lock you into a contract?
Is Switch Telecom a WhichVoIP sponsor?
Do Wanatel or Switch Telecom provide my internet connection?
Can I keep my existing phones and number if I switch to Wanatel or Switch Telecom?
Keep reading
Sources: Switch Telecom (switchtel.co.za: Hosted Switchboard, VoIP SIP Trunk and 2026 pricing-change notice pages); Wanatel (wanatel.co.za: Subscribe to the Cloud pricing matrix, Cloud PBX pages and ICASA licence disclosure). All prices excl. VAT unless stated. Verified 18 August 2026.